Album Cover

Virus 23: Masquerade Madness

  1. Blacksky
  2. Pensamientos
  3. The Meeting
  4. Flowers
  5. Value
  6. PTSD
  7. Ceremony
  8. Take It Part Uno
  9. Take It Part Duo
  10. Blackened
  11. Twisted
  12. Pensamientos (Curry Mix)
  13. Tardes Desnudas

After more than four years of silence, Virus 23 returns with a new roster change, new record company, and a new album. The only remaining members from the first incarnation of Virus 23 are Leo Canneto & Krayge Taylor, and the new members include none of than Chris Kelly, formerly of Sister Machine Gun. This new album contains a widely varied selection of tracks as well as some reworked version of some old favorites. In fact, half of the first album reappears in a newly refashioned format on "Masquerade Madness", thereby relating the remainder of the album to brand new material and remixes. The first thing I noticed with the new material was the lack of both Chemlab and Front Line Assembly influences that made their first album so derivative. This time out they have finally found a solid sound of their own and have refrained from borrowing huge samples from other bands. The end result is an excellent mesh of guitar, electronics, and the occasional funk element thrown in for good measure. Virus 23 have finally grownup and are a band to watch out for in the future should they manage to get some decent distribution and touring capability with this new album deal.

Virus 23 is:
Kenny Schechter
Tim Machintosh
Chris Kelly
Krayge Taylor
Leo Canneto

Ment Media Group
P.O. Box 481
New Tripoli, PA 18066


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 17:03:58 MST