Album Cover

Velvet Acid Christ: Calling Ov The Dead

  1. Phucking Phreak
  2. Malfunction
  3. BSAT2
  4. The Calling (Fuck Shot Mother Fucker Mix)
  5. The Dead (Death Wish Mix)
  6. Timeless Visions
  7. Pary For Life
  8. Exquisite Stench
  9. The Hand (Violent Trance Mix)
  10. Zix Zix Zix (666 Mix)
  11. Decay

With so many excellent tracks on "Calling Ov The Dead", it is a shame that Velvet Acid Christ has to fill them so full of expletives to make them unplayable on all but the most liberal of radio stations. Bryan Erickson definitely has a solid handle on the technical skills needed to compose and produce quality electronic music, but his lyrical and sample content could use a bit of improvement. Bryan has stated on many occasions that the only way to fix the problems with the world today is to destroy it and remake it again from scratch, and this certainly fits within the contextual framework of this album, both musically and lyrically, but it is a bit intense at times and even difficult to take seriously. The number of comparisons to Front Line Assembly on this album is astounding and it is not limited just to the prolific use of samples, Even the key arrangements, rhythm, and meter are standard FLA staples. What Velvet Acid Christ lacks in originality, it certainly makes up for in quality. While I can say a lot of the music is derivative, I can't argue that it is still ear-catching and fun to listen to.

Velvet Acid Christ is: Bryan Erickson

Pendragon Records
P.O. Box 388
Yardley, PA 19067


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 17:03:46 MST