Album Cover

VAST: Visual Audio Sensory Theater

  1. Here
  2. Touched
  3. Dirty Hole
  4. Pretty When You Cry
  5. I'm Dying
  6. Flames
  7. Temptation
  8. Three Doors
  9. The Niles Edge
  10. Somewhere Else To Be
  11. You

VAST is yet another act trying to ride on the coat tails of popular Industrial Rock artists like Ministry and Nine Inch Nails. It seems like every new breakthrough artists has dubbed Coldwave their genre of choice. Unfortunately, the music is so commercially friendly that he will never received any type of serious acceptance within the underground. The other issue with VAST is the number of tracks which don't fit the usual guitar crossover mold. While tracks like "Here" obviously utilize strong electronic rhythms and guitars only for the melody sections, tracks like 'Flames' swing to the other end of the spectrum and become ballads written entirely for an acoustic guitar and violin. VAST just cannot decide what style of music he is trying to write and ultimately this makes his debut album rather disjointed in execution.

VAST is: John Crosby

Elektra Records
345 North Maple Drive
Beverly Hills, CA 90210

E-mail: none

[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 17:03:43 MST