Album Cover

Various Artists: Urbal Beats

  1. The Prodigy - Poison
  2. DJ Icey - Big Ditch
  3. The Chemical Brothers - Block Rockin Beats
  4. Future Sound of London - We Have Explosive
  5. Rabbit in the Moon - O.B.E.
  6. Wink - Higher State of Consciousness
  7. Keoki - Caterpillar
  8. Underworld - Born Slippery
  9. CJ Bolland - Sugar is Sweeter
  10. Orbital - The Saint
  11. The Orb - Toxygene
  12. Goldie - Inner City Life
  13. Reprazent - Share The Fall
  14. Portishead - Sour Times
  15. Everything But The Girl - Before Today
  16. Crystal Method - Busy Child

With the popularity of Electronica music hitting an all time high it seems like everyone is jumping on the band wagon and Urb magazine is no exception. "Urbal Beats" is what they call a 'definitive guide to electronic music', pity they have chosen to include only a tiny fraction of what is electronic these days. As usual with most publications that jump on the latest fad, "Urbal Beats" is a collection of what the popular press has determined as the biggest and brightest in the scene (i.e. the bands selling the most albums). These leaves brilliant bands like Fluke and Photek to suffer the fate of their brothers and sisters in the other fringe electronic scene and they are doomed to never quite break into the mainstream. Ultimately you are better off buying the respective albums of each artist that appears on this compilation rather than the release itself simply because each track appears in the same form there.

Polygram Records
825 Eighth Ave
20th Floor
New York, NY 10019

E-mail: None

[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 17:03:39 MST