Album Cover

Switchblade Symphony: Bread and Jam for Frances

  1. Witches
  2. Dirty Dog
  3. Roller Coaster
  4. Situation #58
  5. Soldiers
  6. Sleep
  7. Funnel
  8. Insect
  9. Rampid
  10. Situation #9
  11. Sheep
  12. Fractal
  13. Sick Mary
  14. Episode G 15

As far as gothic acts go, Switchblade Symphony is probably the most up and coming American band at the moment. Having completed three coast to coast tours as well as opening up for The Sisters of Mercy has certainly done wonders for their image. Of course the release of two singles, an EP and two full length albums in just under three years hasn't hurt either. So the recent release of "Bread and Jam for Frances" has certainly set the stage for several more years of success. Oddly enough, the material on this record actually marks the first time they have released truly new material since the signed with Cleopatra Records. Musically you can instantly notice the change from the first track. This San Francisco duo have wholeheartidily embraced the electronica scene with both hands and have incorporated many of it's elements into their own music. The most obvious example is their use of dub loops that seem to echo a fondness for Portishead. Yet they still continue to use Susan's voice as the musical element while the remainder of the tracks are often very sparse and minimalistic. Overall, "Bread and Jam for Frances" is a very solid sophomore release for these two Gothic darlings and it is sure to please their growing fanbase just long enough for them to hit the road and promote the album.

Switchblade Symphony are: Tina Root & Susan Wallace

Cleopatra Records
8726 S. Sepulveda Blvd
Suite D-82
Los Angeles, CA 90045


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 17:02:18 MST