Album Cover

Scorn: Evanescence

  1. Silver Rain Fell
  2. Light Trap
  3. Falling
  4. Automata
  5. Days Passed
  6. Dreamspace
  7. Exodus
  8. Night Tide
  9. The End
  10. Slumber

Expecting a typical Earache metal band from hell I was totally shocked and secretly pleased when I was instead treated to a mixture of gothic undertones with middle eastern rhythms joined together to produce a sort of tribal ambient melange. The music tends to get a little on the repetitive side especially with the cymbals, but overall the complete work is rather soothing and melodic fitting right at in my album collection right next to bands such as In Slaughter Natives and Shinjuku Thief. If Scorn is any sign of the musical directions Earache records might be taking in the future, I might not just assume everything on the label is a rehashed miasma of metal. If your into a mish mash of thundering percussion weaved with a little ancient tribal rhythm and then thrown into a blender then Scorn is for you.

Scorn is: Michael Harris & Nick Bullen

Earache Records
295 Lafayette St.
Suite 915
New York, NY 10012
(212) 343-9090


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 17:00:20 MST