Album Cover

R.U.O.K.?: R.U.O.K.?

  1. Wallpaper
  2. Hurry Up & Wait
  3. R.U. Ready To Order Now?
  4. Arlak
  5. Baby's On Fire
  6. Accurate Time
  7. X (Part I)
  8. X (Part II)
  9. Dangerous Behavior
  10. The Job Interview

R.U.O.K is one of those groups that you either grasp from the first listen or fail to understand forever. I definitely fall in the latter group as I don't understand the point behind this album at all. A quick description of the album is a spoken word record with an all electronic soundtrack. I'm sure there is a great deal more to this record than someone's bizarre personal anecdotes set to mostly Ambient music, but I certainly cannot glean what it is. To me, the attempts at humor in the text of the diatribe are either far too facile or just plain ignorant. Perhaps to best understand this record, you need to look at the world through the eyes of a lyricist, which is something I have never been able to do. I guess I'll never be privy to the subtlety of this record. I suppose this is my loss.

R.U.O.K. is: Jim Harris

21st Circuitry Records
P.O. Box 170100
San Francisco, CA 94117


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 17:00:04 MST