Album Cover

Various Artists: Outer Space Communications Vol 4

  1. Intro
  2. Principia Audiomatica - Cognitive Penetrating System
  3. Red Sector A - Celestial Freefall
  4. Monomorph - New Life
  5. Nebula - Irregular Area
  6. Astral Body - Ispipullapash
  7. T.W.E. - Release
  8. Quiet Men - Brain
  9. A3000 - Filtered
  10. Cubis - Icons of Plasma
  11. L.O.S.D. - Chaoscillate
  12. Caustic Window - Joyrex J9iii
  13. Ocralab - Mode D'Emploi
  14. It - The Little Ones (Subcode 56)
  15. Kaleidophone - Odd Chatterings

Minus Habens Records has always been ahead of its time, however, it has taken me quite some time to figure this out. Once again, the label has compiled a diverse collection of electronic artists for its fourth "Outer Space Communications" compilation. The chosen themes this time around are Electro Sex, Cryonics, Ecstasy, and Microwaves. Each artist selected for this release was encouraged to use one of the themes as a basis for the mood and the message of their music. As before, about half of the artists on the collection are the label's roster and the tracks appear on a full length album, while the rest of the artists have donated exclusive material. Highlights of this compilation include a Richard D. James side project, Caustic Window, whose 'Joyrex J9iii' is a thundering example of the Power Noise and Dark Step genres involved in a struggle for dominance, the Subcode 56 mix of It's 'The Little Ones', and the subtlely mechanical minimalism of Monomorph's 'New Life'. Minus Habens has taken on the admirable role of bringing diverse and intelligent electronic music to the masses, and "Outer Space Communications 4" is no exception.

Minus Habens Records
via Giustino Fortunato 8/N
70125 Bari


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 16:58:47 MST