Album Cover

Noise Unit: Drill

  1. The Drain 6:43
  2. Dominator 5:35
  3. Prostitute 6:31
  4. Miracle 6:42
  5. Eye Burner 7:10
  6. Sloth 6:44
  7. Neuron 5:25
  8. Other World 5:99
  9. Penance 6:03

Bill Leeb & Rhys Fulber return with their fourth Noise Unit release, this time with a little help from Haujobb and Marc Verhaegen. This album marks the first time since the release of "Response Frequency", that Marc Verhaegen has helped out with Noise Unit, a project that was originally a collaboration between him and Bill Leeb. Once again, the Vancouverites have put together a very predictable album, but a quality release nonetheless. As usual, the album is essentially devoid of vocals, with the occasional vocal sample thrown in for good measure. Instead Bill & Rhys use Noise Unit as more of an instrumental dance outlet, much like the role that Intermix used to previously play for them. Perhaps the most impressive element of this release is the insane amount of layering and texturing present. It seems that with the release of every new album, regardless of what project, Bill & Rhys incorporate an increased density of sound that rivals all their previous body of work. In any event, completists will definitely not be disappointed with this new album, which should receive more than it's fair share of club play due to dance-ability of every single track.

Noise Unit are: Bill Leeb & Rhys Fulber

Metropolis Records
P.O. Box 54307
Philadelphia, PA 19105


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 16:58:08 MST