Album Cover

Newt: -273 C

  1. Motive One
  2. Hull Break
  3. Ostad-Revisited
  4. Testone
  5. -273 C vs. +37 C
  6. Motive Two
  7. Abyss
  8. Phasenverschiebung
  9. Ostad
  10. White Sun

Newt is the first of many Haujobb side projects coming our way. What makes this release so special is that it includes Andreas of Forma Tadre, whose debut album was the surprise hit of 1996. Oddly enough, Newt sounds almost nothing like either Haujobb, or Forma Tadre, and instead utilizes a great degree of minimalism and Drum'n'Bass style percussion for its sound structure. Each track seems to contain only a handful of musical elements, forcing the artists to score more original music with less source material. While at times this makes for a few repetitive loops, it doesn't seem to hinder Newt in the slightest. In fact, they seem to thrive upon the challenge of writing such reserved music. Newt certainly have a strong grasp of the IDM movement. Their debut release manifests a perfect representation of the genre.

Newt is: Daniel Myer & Andreas

21st Circuitry Records
P.O. Box 170100
San Francisco, CA 94117


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 16:57:53 MST