The Newlydead: The Newlydeads

  1. Submission
  2. In Denial
  3. Skin Tight Skin
  4. Melting
  5. Free Weapons
  6. Black Eye
  7. Prick
  8. Suffercation
  9. Cities in Dust
  10. Melting (Remix)
  11. Silent Night

Although the cover art and band name suggest a rather bland stereotypical gothic style, in fact this debut Newlydeads album is far from either comparison. Instead it is a hardcore mixture of chunky guitars, subtle electronic texturing, and screaming vocals. In retrospect this shouldn't be that much of a surprise when the lead vocalist is none other than Taime Down of Faster Pussycat and Pigface fame. Lucky for us, Taime has totally abandoned the glam rock sound of his first project in favor of a much darker style of guitar and electronics. In fact, Newlydeads seems to share a great deal in common with Pigface, with the lack of guest artists or collaborators. If you aren't a fan of guitars, you are definitely warned to avoid this release, because guitars are the instrument of choice. The electronics are used mostly to add sound elements to fill in the holes left behind by other instruments and rarely come to the forefront. Of course what debut album would be complete without a cover song. In this case it is a rather overblown version of Siouxsie and the Banshees 'Cities in Dust'.

The Newlydeads are: Taime Downe & Kyle K.

Bubble Records
7095 Hollywood Blvd. #669
Hollywood, CA 90028

E-mail: fullblown@bubblerecords.com

[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 16:57:52 MST