Album Cover

Various Artists: Newer Wave

  1. 16 Volt - Turning Japanese - The Vapors
  2. Assemblage 23 - I Ran - Flock of Seagulls
  3. Beauty - Red Skies - The Fixx
  4. Luxt - Cars - Gary Numan
  5. Out Out - Candy-O - The Cars
  6. Kevorkian Death Cycle - Never Say Never - Romeo Void
  7. Battery - The Chauffeur - Duran Duran
  8. Scar Tissue - Destination Unknown - Missing Persons
  9. Hate Dept. - Master and Servant - Depeche Mode
  10. Black Metal Box - I Want Candy - Bow Wow Wow
  11. Templebeat - You Spin Me Round - Dead or Alive
  12. Collide - Whip It - Devo
  13. UNIT:187 - Relax - Frankie Goes To Hollywood
  14. Sabotage Q.C.Q.C.? - Sex Dwarf - Soft Cell
  15. Acumen - Whisper To a Scream - Icicle Works

Regardless of whether you thought the eighties was a collection of music filled with unimaginative drivel or was the groundwork of the modern electronic dance scene you'll get a kick out of this compilation. Fifteen diverse Industrial acts have offered up their takes on just about every synth-pop, new wave track you can remember from the decade best remembered by it's hair styles. You can giggle in delight as Luxt turns out a picture perfect cover of Gary Numan's 'Cars', or Collide mutates the traditional arrangement of Devo's 'Whip It!'. You can even cringe during the Acumen's unconventional rework of Icicle Works, 'Whisper to a Scream' with guest vocals by Stella of Sister Soleil. And what eighties compilation would be complete with out at least one Depeche Mode cover, in this case 'Master and Servant' by Hate Dept. "Newer Wave" is definitely of of those compilations bound to give you fits of nostalgia for years to come. Now I just have to remember where I put my parachute pants so I can boogie down properly.

21st Circuitry Records
P.O. Box 170100
San Francisco, CA 94117


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 16:57:52 MST