Album Cover

Neotek: Brain Over Muscle

  1. Mind-Traveling (Part 1)
  2. Pink Noise
  3. Rhythm Machine
  4. Tear My Mind Apart
  5. Suicide
  6. Countdown
  7. Neotek 52
  8. Into Silence
  9. The Dawn
  10. Mind-Traveling (Part 2)
  11. Brain Over Muscle
  12. The Village

This side project of the members of Good Courage gives us a straight-forward electro-industrial dance album with a lot of techno rhythms included in most songs. There is good mixture of both dancey instrumentals and rhythmic songs that include vocals. The track Rhythm Machine gives a Kraftwerk impression with the inclusion of that unmistakable computerized voice, along with some keyboard notes with a Nitzer Ebb feel to them. The track Tear My Mind Apart moves away somewhat from the straight-ahead danceable style of the album to include some deep gothic vocals and deep mellow keyboards. The percussive programming on this track seems to combine both straight dance beats as well as some subtle tribal elements. Into Silence is also another track that moves away from pure dance material by presenting a slower, more emotional song and displays those same deep gothic vocals. The track Suicide is a very fast-paced song, with deep infecting rhythms and good use of horn synths, but the vocals seem to distract seem to distract from the song. While the influences from such groups as Haujobb and Front Line Assembly are apparent, the combination of styles this band uses manages to create a sound that puts the band beyond just being an imitator.(Kevin Congdon)

Neotek are:
H. Jensen
M. Neis
J.B. Petersen

Cleopatra Records
8726 S. Sepulveda Blvd D-82
Los Angeles, CA 90045


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 16:57:42 MST