Album Cover

Naked Lunch: Everything Dies

  1. Wonderful
  2. Continue To Breathe
  3. Water is Life
  4. Lady and the Vamp
  5. We are the Disease
  6. Transmission
  7. Blinded
  8. Undone
  9. Out There
  10. I Was a God
  11. Confess: Everything Dies
  12. Pastor
  13. Everyones A Sinner

Naked Lunch attempts a rather amusing melodic approach to the typical guitar Industrial crossover with "Everything Dies" that would almost succeed if I could keep from laughing out loud while listening to it. Hopefully the twisted irony that seems to float throughout the entire album is intentional because if the band is really taking themselves seriously it is rather pathetic. To start with, the dark, almost Gothic style of the vocalist simply does not mesh well with any of the tracks except for the cover of 'Transmission' where they actually make total sense. Then when he drops into a more sadistic style of throatwork he sounds even more absurd. The real problem with this release is that there are far too many musical elements utilized in each track. As a result the music is very cluttered and jarring in places because the layering is to thick and confusing to follow. I can't tell whether this is a result of the equipment, or just trying too hard to crossover into too many genres at once. Overall the album is quite entertaining for it's odd use of time signatures, weird vocal techniques, and fiercely juxtaposed programming styles, but unfortunately amusement isn't what sells records.

Naked Lunch is:
Mxyzptlk - vocals, guitars
Steve Chafin - guitars
Todd Devries - keyboards
Tomas Wells - bass
Davey - drums

Naked Lunch
P.O. Box 1054
Portage, MI 49081


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 16:57:24 MST