Album Cover

Various Artists: Melt

  1. Bizarre Alliance - Plutonium
  2. Apoptygma Berzerk - Burnin' Heretic (Guitarless Edit)
  3. Neuroactive - Obsession (Plastic Mix)
  4. Birmingham 6 - Mindhallucination (Brain Mix)
  5. Anstalt - Cybers
  6. Leaetherstrip - No Rest For The Wicked (No Vox Version)
  7. The Insult That Made Man Out Of Mac - Gunmaster
  8. Inferno 5 - Halfdaudur
  9. Malaise - Sometimes|Dreams
  10. Remyl - Addicts
  11. Chaingun Operae - Netspace
  12. Angst Pop - Oedipus Rex (Video Version)
  13. In Slaughter Natives - Fifth Skin (Close Cyberware Mix)
  14. Reptilicus - Random Succession
  15. Shade Factory - Under Ten Lies (Club Slayer Edit)
  16. Active Media Disease - Lost
  17. In Absentia - The Broekn Glass of Shattered Dreams

Melt is the domestic release of a hard to find Scandinavian electro industrial compilation originally released by Cyberware Productions of Finland. All of the tracks are exclusive remixes or unreleased tracks except for the Leatherstrip track. Also of note is the absence of the last track by In Absentia which is listed in the liner notes but was left off the compilation due to a mastering problem at the time of the original pressing. The best thing about this compilation is that so many bands on it are almost impossible to find domestically and this is the first time that anyone has had the luxury to hear anything by them. Over half the bands I had never even heard of before, and half of the remaining bands I had heard of, but had never actually listened to any of their music. That is of utmost significance when you considered that I am one of the most widely listened reviewers according to my peers. The first half of the compilation consists of more popular EBM style electro with the music slowly transitioning to darkwave instrumentals of a more experimental nature as the album progresses. There is something for all genres of electro enthusiasts on this compilation and I suggest you hasten to pick this CD to broaden your musical tastes because it most certainly did that in my case.

Fifth Column Records
P.O. Box 787
Washington, D.C. 20044


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 16:56:53 MST