Album Cover

Lycia: Estrella

  1. Clouds in the Southern Sky
  2. El Diablo
  3. Tainted
  4. Tongues
  5. Estrella
  6. Dome
  7. Silver Sliver
  8. The Canal
  9. The Kite
  10. Orion
  11. Distant Fading Star

Not having heard much Lycia in the past, "Estrella" came as a pleasant surprise. The music, while obviously wavering back and forth between Gothic and Darkwave, was more jovial than one would expect from either genre. Instead of trying to compose music to meet a certain expectation, Lycia has chosen to write their own rules. Melodic guitars compliment diminutive synth chords and gorgeous vocals. Percussion is kept to a modicum and always consists of bongos or ethnic instrumentation. It has been quite some time since I have heard truly beautiful music that combines these four musical elements so effectively. At times, Tara's voice serves as just another instrument in the mix, while at others she weaves a very distinct tale meant for intellectual consumption. "Estrella" is certainly a breathtaking album to be savored over and over again.

Lycia is: Mike Vanportfleet & Tara

Projekt Records
P.O. Box 166155
Chicago, IL 60616


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 16:56:22 MST