Album Cover

Lagowski: Ashita

  1. Replicator
  2. Maitresse
  3. Liquid
  4. Assembler
  5. Megascale
  6. Register
  7. S.C. Alloys

Andrew Lagowski has recorded under many names including Legion, S.E.T.I, and now a project named after himself. The title of the album is "Ashita" which loosely translated from Japanses means "tomorrow". This seven track, one hour release is a concept album focusing on nanotechnology and its societal implications. Each track is named after a various step involved either with the development of, or the eventual use of this subatomic manufacturing process. While this concept may sound like something out of a Science Fiction novel, there are in fact steps being taken in the computer chip industry to pack more transistors on the head on a pin than blood vessels in your body. Musically "Ashita" is a minimalist journey of methodical rhythms. subjugated atmospheres, and no vocals as is standard on all solo Andrew Lagowski projects. My favorite track is the voluminous 'Megascale' with a slow, echoed build-up, that grows into a funky drum meter ebbing back and forth. The track continues for twelve long minutes but never grows boring or tedious regardless of its repetition. Once again Andrew Lagowski reveals his significant skill of developing unique sounds that hold our interest regardless of how they are used.

Side Effects Records
P.O. Box 83296
Portland, OR 97283


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 16:55:45 MST