Album Cover

KMFDM: Xtort

  1. Power
  2. Apathy
  3. Rules
  4. Craze
  5. Dogma
  6. Inane
  7. Blame
  8. Son Of A Gun
  9. Ikons
  10. Wrath

KMFDM returns again with the exact same sound you've heard time and time again on each and every album. The entire first track, 'Power' is a rehash of at least six older KMFDM and Excessive Force tracks. Both the musical and the lyrics are recycled with almost no new material added. It seems as if Sascha has only been issued a limited number of notes, lyrics, and self-referential samples within his lifetime and has been told to rehash his music as best he can using only that finite catalog of sound. If that is indeed the case, it is a pity, because I think he is capable of so much more than that. The only tracks with any vague sense of originality are those which have outside contributors on them, such as Chris Connelly, F.M.Einheit and Nicole Blackman. The most amusing of these is 'Dogma' which is a reworked version of the spoken word rant that Nicole Blackman used to open the "Nihil' tour, set to music. The sad thing is, most people won't understand the message being preached by her. I am also truly amazed that Wax Trax is letting Sascha get away with releasing a carbon copy of his back catalog yet again. One of these days people are going to start using their brains and realizing that they have heard seven different versions of the original 'Godlike' guitar riff on every album since "Naive", and maybe Sascha isn't such an amazing artist after all, then again, I don't think I should give humanity that much credit.

KMFDM is: Sascha Konietzko

TVT Records
23 East 4th Street
New York, NY 10003
(219) 979-6410


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 16:55:37 MST