Various Artists: Into The Mix

Disc 1:

  1. The Prodigy - Voodoo People (Chemical Brothers Mix)
  2. Meat Beat Manifesto - Mindstream (Orbital Mix)
  3. Art of Noise - Instrumental of Darkness (All of Us Are People) (Prodigy Mix)
  4. Talla 2XLC - Eternal Zeme (Front 242 Remix)
  5. L.S.G. - Netherworld (Banco de Gaia Remix)
  6. Psychic TV - Re-United Mix (Sabres of Paradise Mix)
  7. Renegade Soundwave - Renegade Soundwave (Leftfield Mix)
  8. Switchblade Symphony - Clown (Astralasia Remix)
  9. Juno Reactor - Feel The Universe (Kox Box Remix)
  10. Kraftwelt - Trance in Time (Audio Science Mix)
  11. LCD - Aqualite (Megga Mix)
  12. Sunbeam - Out of Reality (Seismic Remix by Razormaid)

Disc 2:

  1. Kamakino - Outface
  2. By Pass Unit - Helium
  3. Kinder Atom - Pink Button
  4. Din - Stab
  5. Giez - Sack Says Air
  6. Nature TM - In a Gentle Mood
  7. Surface 10 - Concentrations
  8. The Brain - Now is Forever
  9. Anubian Lights - The Ba & The Ka
  10. R-Escape-R - Into The Abyss
  11. Xylon - Funky Alienation
  12. Cathexis - Hymlock
  13. Dilate - Oblivion

"Into the Mix" is Cleopatra Records latest stab into the marketing frenzy surrounding the electronica genre. Unfortunately, the term 'electronica' is simply a convenient umbrella that attempts to encapsulate the wide range of electronic musical styles. In fact no single artist would admit to belonging to such a genre, but rather point out the genre only exists as a media catch phrase. Regardless of the inanity of the term, it does prove one single point, that electronic music is finally beginning to receive the proper media coverage that it so richly deserves.

Now this particular compilation is broken up into two halves with the first disc containing remixes of some of the more popular electronic dance acts while the second disc contains more underground artist, who incidently are all on the Cleopatra Records roster. As a result this compilation is a classic example of using the current feeding frenzy and name dropping in an attempt to garner some attention for the lesser known, yet probably more talented, underground artists. Overall both discs are very diverse, with musical variation ranging from the tidal wave of drum'n'bass that recently migrated from Europe, the slow droning landscapes of ambient texturing, to the house influenced techno that so many of us have grown tired of since it's arrival years ago upon the music scene. So for the price of a single disc, you acquire twice as much music, which probably makes this compilation just about worthwhile after you wade through the stereotypical drivel that tends to permeate such releases.

Cleopatra Records
8726 S. Sepulveda Blvd
Suite D-82
Los Angeles, CA 90045

E-mail: cleopatra@tunanet.com

[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 16:55:05 MST