Album Cover

Index: Sky Laced Silver

  1. Black Razor
  2. Static Sky
  3. This Day
  4. Broken
  5. Shadows
  6. World News
  7. Angelfire
  8. Snow Drowns the Saint
  9. Where
  10. Reignfall
  11. Canon
  12. Millenium Petals (Thorn)

With all the hype behind the new wave of European electro I began to worry that the trend started overseas would never arrive here stateside but when the debut album by Index showed up at my doorstep I ceased my anguish immediately. Here was a band whose programming ability was equivalent with foreign bands to the genius of Haujobb, Amgod & :wumpscut: while still drawing heavily upon natives like Mentallo & The Fixer. Index built it's music upon the backs of giants with a depth and distinctness of all of it's own. While shying away from more dance oriented material in favor of dense array of electronic bundles Index still manages to retain a tightly compacted style and cohesive rhythm. The lyrics seem to only add minimal adornment to the opaque audio sculptures and avoid detracting from total package. Index has revived my hopes in the overall weak American electro movement by reinvigorating the pallid digital corpse.

Index is: Eric Chamberlain & Cody Cast

COP International
981 Aileen St.
Oakland, CA 94608


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 16:54:17 MST