Album Cover

Ikon: A Moment in Time

  1. Reality Is Lost
  2. To Turn Away
  3. Alone
  4. As Time Goes By
  5. Under the Watchful Eye
  6. A Moment in Time
  7. Echoes of Silence
  8. Dreaming
  9. Headspin
  10. Why
  11. So Far Away
  12. Towards Tomorrow
  13. So Evil
  14. The Final Experience

With the release of "A Moment in Time" Metropolis Records completes the re-issue of Ikon's back catalogue. This particular album contains selections that were either unreleased, or taken from the band's first demos. As a result, this is the oldest collection of tracks released by the Australian trio. Showing their age, the tracks on album rely solely on acoustic instrumentation without the aid of keyboards, samplers or the like. Most tracks contain slow to mid-tempo selections in the classic Goth style with overly somber lyrics and brooding guitar work. As a result this is probably my least favorite Ikon album simply because it sounds so dated when compared with their newest material where they forsake most of the acoustic sound for all digital technology. However, it is a good album for those fans who want to see how far the band has progressed musically.

Ikon is:
Chris McCarter - guitar, keyboards, programming, vocals
Dino Melinaro - bass
Michael Carrodus - vocals

Metropolis Records
P.O. Box 54307
Philadelphia, PA 19105


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 16:54:03 MST