Album Cover

Ikon: In the Shadow of the Angel

  1. Condemnation
  2. Lord of Darkness
  3. Secrets Within
  4. Fall Apart
  5. Hallowed Ground
  6. Black Rose
  7. I've Been
  8. Distant Memory
  9. Truth
  10. Suicide
  11. Love is Colder than Death
  12. In The Shadow of the Angel

Luckily for Gothic fans everywhere, Metropolis Records has gained the US license rights for the entire Ikon back catalogue. As a result they have started reissuing all of Ikon discography starting with "In the Shadow of the Angel" originally released in 1994. Musically this album is drastically different than the most recent Ikon release, "Flowers For The Gathering", so much so that apart from the vocalist it sounds like a totally different band altogether. Musically this Ikon release is very light-hearted with a very stripped down sound that includes only a minimal use of electronics. More effort is put into the guitar work and vocals leaving the percussion of drums as mere time keeping devices throughout most of the album. Overall "In the Shadow of the Angel" definitely has more in common with the classic eighties rock acts than with some of their more modern contemporaries. However this album is an excellent reference point for those fans that have found Ikon's recent material very gratifying.

Ikon is:
Chris McCarter - guitar, keyboards, programming, vocals
Dino Melinaro - bass
Michael Carrodus - vocals

Metropolis Records
P.O. Box 54307
Philadelphia, PA 19105


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 16:54:02 MST