Album Cover

Hexedene: Choking on Lilies

  1. Turn
  2. Only Human (Bastard Mix)
  3. Breathe
  4. Everything and Nothing
  5. Hex-Break
  6. Damage
  7. Fade Out From Me
  8. Close My Eyes ('97 Re-Build)
  9. White Out
  10. Breathe (Regurgitate Mix)
  11. Everything and Nothing (Oneiroid Psychosis Mix)
  12. Breathe (SMP Remix)
  13. Close My Eyes
  14. Breathe (Gunhed Mix)
  15. Breathe (Society Burning Mix)

Ironically, the length of time it took to see the debut release of Hexedene has coincided with the departure of the vocalist and guitar player. Katie Helsby and Ian Palmer recently had their own project signed to a large record label in England and as a result left Hexedene leaving Jonathan Sharp as the sole member. Sadly, this means that the key elements that make Hexedene unique will cease to exist once Jonathan finds a replacement vocalist. Katie had a very strong vocal range that could be very lush on slower tracks like 'Everything and Nothing' or more aggressive such as on 'Only Human'. Ian's guitar work was always complimentary, never dominating or hiding in the final mixdown. These elements combined with Jonathan's obvious electronic wizardry was bordering on perfection. My only complaint with this relase is that while it contains fifteen tracks, seven of them are remixes, four of which are the same song. I want more original material, not remixes, even if they are performed superbly by the likes of SMP, Alien Faktor, and Society Burning.

Hexedene is:
Jonathan Sharp - programming and guitars
Katie Helsby - vocals
Ian Palmer - guitars

Re-Constriction Records
4901-906 Morena Blvd
San Diego, CA 92117-3432


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 16:53:42 MST