Album Cover

Evil's Toy: Illusion

  1. Lucifer's Garden
  2. Co Existence
  3. Illusion
  4. Prevision
  5. Movie
  6. Under The White Waves
  7. Psi
  8. Shades of Vanity
  9. Fallen Angel
  10. Walk on the Clouds
  11. Bonus Track ('92)

I don't quite understand why everyone raves about Evil's Toy, when they have taken four albums, and numerous singles, to finally achieve a level of originality. Apparently, people are content to pay hard earned cash for the poor :wumpscut: and Haujobb knock-offs that are this bands back catalogue. Fortunately, "Illusion" firmly sheds the tattered remains of Evil's Toy's previous cloning efforts and starts anew with an album that certainly speaks to me. I'm not sure if thick string sections, crisp percussion, or the calculated sequencing are what make this album stand out, but they certainly do not count against it. The vocals are also very precise in their execution, bordering on Pop-like with their tone and style. Thus makes a very accessible album for Industrial and Electronica fans alike. As much as I am ashamed to say it, I think some of the Synth-Pop elements also play a part in what makes "Illusion" click. Evil's Toy decisively derives a hybrid electronic music style that compliments their nature perfectly.

Evil's Toy are:
Thorstein Brenda - sampling, keyboards
Volker Lutz - vocals, lyrics, keyboards

Metropolis Records
P.O. Box 54307
Philadelphia, PA 19105


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 16:51:58 MST