Album Cover

Download: Charlie's Family

  1. Beautiful 4:34
  2. Gristle Dog Corr 6:12
  3. Trick or Treat 4:18
  4. Fill Her 5:07
  5. Tweeter Blower 4:48
  6. Catblower 8:35
  7. Yes 4:05
  8. Interlude 5:00
  9. Thank You 5:08

While technically released after "Furnace" and "Eyes of Stanley Pain", in actuality, "Charlie's Family" is the first true Download release. The music was originally written in 1995 as the score to the Jim Van Bebber film of the same name and released in a limited edition format during the 1996 Download tour in order to fund the final cut of the film. Apparently, the release was so popular, that Metropolis managed to obtain the rights from SubConscious Communications to release it in a new, non-limited format. The actual differences in the release are external only, with the new release being packaged in a digi-pak with a yellow background while the original release was packaged in a standard jewel case with a violet backdrop. Musically both releases are identical. Packaging aside, the music also sounds nothing like other Download releases because it was originally meant as the soundtrack to a film based on the exploits of Charles Manson. As a result this release is filled with vocal samples, strange static pans, and other cinematic style sounds which make the album more suited for home listening and impossible to use in a club. However, it is an authorized Download release, and completists will want to pick it up for the novelty value, even if they only end up listening to it once.

Download is: cEvin Key, Dwayne Goettel & Philth

Metropolis Records
P.O. Box 54307
Philadelphia, PA 19105


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 16:50:56 MST