Album Cover

Download: III

  1. Toooly Hooof
  2. Cunning
  3. Moth
  4. Tunnel
  5. Mzeo B
  6. Streaked
  7. Flight of the Insects
  8. Beauty in the Eyes
  9. Sleeping Solus
  10. Pleck
  11. Bellshaw
  12. Were

The departure of a regular vocalist as well as the apparent lack of any Dwayne Goettell back catalogue material has definitely set the stage for a very different Download release. Gone are the exquisitely detailed layers of percussion and strings, and in their place is an almost minimalistic feel by comparison. If you have had a chance to hear the new platEAU project, by the same Vancouver trio, this new Download album appears to be only a slightly more caustic and structured version. In essence "III" is a mere shadow of previous Download material and what it lacks in complexity it also lacks in vibrance and cohesiveness. Overall the percussion pales in comparison to previous material while relying on instrumentals as the sole outlet for the music is a definite death call for this album. Eventually we knew that Cevin and the gang would have to hit a road bump on their road of musical successes, we had just hoped it wouldn't happen so soon. With luck they should be able to recover from this very disappointing album but only time will tell.

Download is: Cevin Key, Anthony Valvic & Philth

Nettwerk Records
632 Broadway, Suite 301
New York, NY, 10012


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 16:50:55 MST