Album Cover

Delerium: Karma

  1. Enchanted
  2. Duende
  3. Twilight
  4. Silence
  5. Forgotten Worlds
  6. Lamnetation
  7. Euphoria (Firefly)
  8. Remembrance
  9. Wisdom
  10. Koran
  11. 'Til The End of Time

Delerium returns hot on the heels of the surprise success of their last album with more of the same. This time they have expanded their vocalist list from the previous solo effort of Kirsty Thirsk of Rose Chronicles, to also include sampled vocals of Lisa Gerrard of Dead Can Dance, Jacqui Hunt of Single Gun Theory, and even Sarah McLaughlin & her backup vocalist Camille Henderson. As you would expect, with seven of the eleven songs containing vocals, many of the previous lush soundscapes have been forsaken for a more pop feel. However, Delerium hasn't sacrificed their integrity for the sake of the label on this album. It was all motivated by the realization that they could actually achieve decent album sales while still remaining true to their personal convictions. Far be it for an artist to actually make a living for performing their art. The other noticeable difference on this album is the lack of heavily sampled material from other artists. This time they have chosen to use more of their own stock material and only borrow from a single Dead Can Dance track and a Baka Forest Pygmies album. And for those fans of the older Delerium style who long to hear it again, don't fret, you still can, just not here. You'll have to find it under the newest Bill Leeb & Rhys Fulber pseudonym; Synaesthesia.

Delerium is: Bill Leeb & Rhys Fulber

Nettwerk Records
632 Broadway, Suite 301
New York, NY, 10012


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 16:50:25 MST