Album Cover

Decree: Wake of Devastation

  1. Delusion 4:27
  2. The Last Day 4:29
  3. Who Dares? 3:02
  4. Fire of Offering 5:04
  5. Madness Unveiled 3:22
  6. Talons Grasp 5:43
  7. Never Nearer 4:35
  8. Darkness Visible 6:20
  9. Downward 4:28
  10. Bitter End 4:45

Decree crosses several years and a multitude of contributors, one of which is actually the dearly departed Dwayne Goettel. The musical mainstay behind Decree is none other than Chris Peterson of Delerium, Front Line Assembly and Will fame. He shares duties with vocalist John McRae who screams permeate the album and Jeff Stoddard whose guitars fill out Chris's electronic sampling techniques. The album is divided evenly between live tracks; recorded as long as five years ago in a variety of threadbare apartments in Vancouver, BC in the early nineties, as well as painstakingly assembled material recorded more recently in a rented closet at Subconscious studios. The end result is an album of live instrumental chaos that threatens to blow the speakers on most stereo systems due to it's violent intensity coupled with lyrically accentuated studio material that delves into the innermost daemons of your mind. Definitely not for those with sensitive ears or prejudices against extremely noisy analogue tape transfers. Decree is DIY at it's best and the ringing in your ears after listening to just a single track is proof enough.

Decree is: Chris Peterson & John McRae

Decibel Records
615 N. Milwaukee St
Milwaukee WI, 53202


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 16:50:24 MST