Album Cover

Dead Voices on Air: Piss Frond

Disc 1:

  1. Geong G'uma
  2. The Durrow Book
  3. Sulphur
  4. Red Kerre
  5. Foss Maerum
  6. Caw Gap
  7. Swan Flax
  8. Castered Carts

Disc 2:

  1. On Hare Hill
  2. Of Hare Hill
  3. Arbeia
  4. Pns Aelius
  5. Voss Pilae
  6. Aesica
  7. Irthing Fell
  8. Incthuthil

Breaking from a long standing personal preference, Mark Sypybey finally writes an album of songs rather than finite sound elements. This two CD set contains sixteen tracks and over 140 minutes of music includng melodies, vocals, and even a bridge or two, typical of Pop music. However, don't let the fact that "Piss Frond" contains songs suggest that Dead Voices on Air have gone the way of a Pop act. In fact, Mark with the aid of his wife Elaine, Darryl Neudorf and a dozen other members, once again pushes musical boundaries that few dare cross. Mark incorporates the insight of several musical acquaintances into the music writing process and the outcome is magnificent. In the short tern, DVOA sheds the singular drones in favor of thick layering of drums, vocals, analog ambience, stringed instruments, chanting, and even guitar. The end result gives "Piss Frond" the polish it needs to succeed as the fifth entry in the DVOA catalogue.

Dead Voices on Air is: Mark Spybey

Invisible Records
P.O. Box 16008
Chicago, IL 60618


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 16:50:21 MST