Album Cover

Bitter Grace: God and the Abyss

  1. Beneath the Ocean Black
  2. Special One
  3. Sane
  4. Nothing Here
  5. Ashes in the Rain
  6. Precious
  7. The Very Last Goodbye
  8. God and the Abyss
  9. Fever
  10. Burning Kisses
  11. Requiem

Bitter Grace rides on two decades of Gothic Rock music without creating any new tricks. Instead, they use the usual array of ideas that were worn out when Bauhaus broke up a ten years ago. The male baritone croons, acoustic drum kit, bass and guitar of straight up Gothic Rock is extremely boring. The only thing that saves this album from depths of Gothic hell are the handful of almost Ambient instrumentals interspersed through the record. The tracks are few, far between and much too short. My suggestion to Bitter Grace is to give up the bad Sisters of Mercy impersonations and work on the instrumental sections because they are the only shred of originality on the album.

Bitter Grace is: Gustavo Lapis Ahumad


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 16:49:25 MST