Album Cover

Autovoice: A Living Death

  1. We Know What We Know
  2. Prevent The Future From Happening
  3. Photorealism
  4. Passing Out of Sight
  5. Construct
  6. Fallout
  7. The Perfect Solution
  8. Human Condition
  9. Factor
  10. Your Number One Dance Song
  11. Monoculture
  12. Collapse

Autovoice is certainly all over the place musically speaking with the release of "A Living Death". Within the first three songs they have covered mourning Gothic vocals, crushing Power Noise percussion, and melodic Synth-Pop. At times such a diverse choice of musical elements can work to the advantage of the band, but in the case of Autovoice, I think it is more of a detriment. I found myself unable to follow the changes in tempo, mood, and styles from track to track without wondering if I was listening to the same band. The engineering and orchestration show signs of excellent skills on the part of the young trio, but it simply isn't enough to detract from the obvious lack of cohesion between tracks. Some of this could have been fixed with a better choice of track order, starting with some of the slower songs and gradually moving towards the faster material instead of the rapid tempo changes that exist. Autovoice definitely have a few areas for improvement for future release, but they are certainly headed in the right direction.

Autovoice is:
Steve Shoe - voice & electronics
Johnny Space-Echo - electronics & voice
Morse Code - tape manipulation & sound effects

Flaming Fish Music
9 Koidern Ave.
Whitehorse, Yukon


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 16:49:12 MST