Album Cover

Arcana: Apparations

  1. Apparitions 2:23
  2. The Lack of Permanence 5:08
  3. Now I Can Feel? 2:41
  4. 1st Wave 4:04
  5. Be Careful What You Wish For 6:31
  6. Violence In Chinatown 5:17
  7. Brutality 3:58
  8. When The Shadows Lie 6:54
  9. The Hurt Heals Slow 5:46
  10. Ominous Sky 0:49
  11. 3rd Wave 4:05
  12. Letters From Home 2:11
  13. Watched Over By Angels 5:20

This is the debut album from a musical project from my home town by the name of Arcana. They should not be confused with the Cold Meat Industry band of the same name, and in fact predate their brother band by almost three years. The majority of the material on this album is brand new. Only three tracks appeared on an obscure self-released cassette EP and all of the tracks have been remixed and remastered on this new album. Musically the band has strong ties with the likes of In The Nusery with their use of snare drums and stringed instruments. Many of the track contain acoustic drums and other instrumentation rather then their sampled counterparts. Other tracks favor strong usages of samples either derived from natural sources such as rain, or most modern sources such as shortwave radio. For the most part the music is totally devoid of any vocal work, yet does contain an occasional vocal sample buried in the mix. Also included with the album are extensive liner notes on a variety of scientific and parapsychological methods of obtaining and recording sound. Perhaps the most amazing thing about this release is that it was totally self designed from the music and engineering to the layout and design of the liner notes. This release is definitely something that classical industrial, ambient and experimental fans alike should listen too simply for the sheer quality of the end product.

Arcana are:
Brian McWilliams - bass, drums, keyboards, piano, percussion, radio & tape treatments
John Phipps - acoustic and e-bow guitar, drums, keyboards, percussion, piano & tape treatments

1019 Lane
Kalamazoo, MI 49001
(616) 341-9731


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: Monday, 24-Sep-2012 16:49:01 MST